Blue VanguardExeter's Premier Jazz Club

Forthcoming Gigs

Gig Info

  • Thu

    Derek Nash & Martin Dale

    At the forefront of the British Jazz movement, Derek Nash is "one of the most versatile saxophonists in the UK today" (The Guardian

    Derek has been a member of the Jools Holland Rhythm and Blues Orchestra since 2004, has led Sax Appeal for over thirty years, fronts the funk/fusion band Protect the Beat, and is a member of the Ronnie Scott's Blues Explosion.

    He is renowned for his energetic, vibrant, passionate and charismatic performances on all four saxophones - from sonorous baritone to soaring soprano - and is an award-winning performer having received the John Dankworth Award and the British Jazz Award (Small Group) for Sax Appeal. He received Best Jazz CD of the Year for Young Lions, Old Tigers with the late Spike Robinson, receiving the same British Jazz Award for "Joyriding" by The Derek Nash Acoustic Quartet in 2012. He regularly appears in the British Jazz awards nominations in several categories (Alto/Tenor and Baritone) and was nominated for Jazz Musician of the Year by the Global Music Foundation.

    He has recorded three solo CDs - Setting New Standards (1998) alongside Clark Tracey, Alec Dankworth and Graham Harvey; Snapshot (2009) with Jan Lundgren, Geoff Gascoyne and Steve Brown; and Joyriding (2012) with the multi-award winning pianist Dave Newton, and Geoff Gascoyne and Sebastiaan de Krom.

    With the Jools Holland Rhythm and Blues Orchestra, Derek performs approaching 100 gigs per year, including for 65,000 people at the Cardiff Millennium Stadium and for over 100,000 at the Glastonbury Festival, where he was a featured soloist, and he also appears on the last seven CDs.  He has performed live and on TV with such greats as Eric Clapton, Amy Winehouse, Emeli Sande, Jessie J, Sir Paul McCartney, Solomon Burke, Annie Lennox, Eddie Floyd, Sam Moore, Madeleine Peyroux, Roger Daltrey, David Sanborn, Eddi Reader and Tom Jones.


    Sax Appeal has featured some of the leading saxophonists in the UK including Mornington Lockett, Gary Plumley, Bob McKay, Scott Garland, Simon Allen, Nigel Hitchcock, Dave O'Higgins, Paul Booth, Tim Garland and Matt Wates.  They are supported by the top rhythm section of Phil Scragg (bass), Mike Bradley (drums) and Pete Adams (piano).  They have recorded six CDs - Flat Out (1991), Let's Go (1994), Outside In (1997), Take No Prisoners (2000), The Flatiron Suite (2006) and Funkerdeen (2014). The Sax Appeal Big Band is an enlarged version of the core group with the addition of four trumpets and three trombones and features some of the best including Winston Rollins, Martin Gladdish, Richard Henry, Martin Shaw, Jon Scott, Danny Marsden and Gabriel Garrick.  Their long-awaited first CD will be recorded soon.

    Protect the Beat performs original, contemporary funk/groove material, following in the giant steps of the great Morrisey Mullen and The Yelowjackets.  Playing at Jazz festivals around the world, the band features Darby Todd (drums), Winston Blissett (bass), Arden Hart (piano) and Tim Cansfield (guitar) who have played with, among others, Massive Attack, George Clinton, Buddy Whittington and The Bee Gees.  They have released two CDs - It Ain't Dinner Jazz (2002) and Intrepid (2007).


    As a member of the Ronnie Scott's Blues Explosion, Derek performs regularly at the world-famous club alongside blues greats Tony Remy (guitar), Marcus Bonfanti (vocals and guitar), Paddy Milner (vocals and piano), Nick Cohen (bass), Frank Tontoh (drums), Paul Newton (trumpet) and Winston Rollins (trombone).  They regularly feature top blues guests, one of which was Jack Bruce.  He was so impressed with the band that he invited them to become his regular European touring band.


    As much a composer and arranger as a performer, Derek has composed virtually all the Sax Appeal repertoire.  His Setting New Standards CD was a collaboration with his father Pat Nash,(arranger for the BBC Northern Dance Orchestra for over 35 years) and his  CD - Joyriding - includes seven new and diverse compositions.  He has also composed for TV and radio. As an arranger, he has written for Annie Lennox, Mavis Staples, Alison Moyet, Lulu, Kylie Minogue, Ruby Turner, David Sanborn, Dave Edmunds, Martha Reeves and the Vandelas and the Jools Holland Rhythm and Blues Orchestra.  

    He has appeared on CDs with many other artists including Don Grusin, George Melly, Bob Dorough, Jools Holland, Tom Jones, Peter Green, Shakatak, Lulu, David Sanborn, India Arie, Geoff Gascoyne, Alison Moyet, Digby Fairweather and Trudy Kerr.

    As a performer, he has played with Don and Dave Grusin, John Dankworth, Ray Gelato, John Ehteridge, Russell Ferrante, Nelson Rangell, Snake Davis, Bob Dorough, Oscar Castro Neves, Lillian Boutte, Clare Teal, Jamie Cullum, Humphrey Lyttelton and Alan Barnes. He has also worked with boogie-maestro Ben Waters, appearing on his CDs Shakin' in the Makin', Hurricane and Boogie for Stu (alongside Keith Richards) and performing a series of dates with Axel Zwingenberger, Dave Green and Charlie Watts.

    Derek owns and operates Clowns Pocket Recording Studios.  As a record producer and engineer, Derek has worked with such musicians as Jamie Cullum (he received a gold disc forPointless Nostalgic), Bobby Wellins, Stan Tracey, Martin Drew, Georgie Fame, Alan Barnes, Tim Garland, Geoff Gascoyne, Tony Remy, Dave O'Higgins, Eric Alexander, Kirk Lightsley, Clark Tracey, Tom Cawley's Curios and Trudy Kerr, with whom he is also co-director of Jazzizit Records, a UK independent Jazz label.